Ty'r Bont Bed & Breakfast

Betws-y-Coed

Ty Hyll (The Ugly House)

Why is Ty Hyll called the Ugly House?

Pot Mêl tearoom at Ty Hyll

Shrouded in mystery, Ty Hyll (the Ugly House) is some 3 miles west of Betws-y-Coed, on the A5 towards Capel Curig.

Its origins allegedly go back to 1475, when two brothers built themselves a hideaway in the Snowdonia forest and carving the date over the fireplace.

Today the house is in the ownership of local charity the Snowdonia Society, and run as a visitor centre and cosy cottage tearoom.

Visitors can enjoy home baked local produce and also learn about the legends of the house and the local environment, particularly the honeybees and wildlife garden that give the tearoom its name.

The house is open seven days a week until bonfire night, 10.30am to 5pm. It will be open three days a week over the winter - please call 01492 642322 for any enquiries or bookings, or visit website link

Ty Hyll (The Ugly House) Statistics: 267 click throughs, 11544 views since start of 2019

Attraction in Capel Curig Conwy

Ty'r Bont Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed Conwy

Powered by Web4-u | Wales Tourist Information